1. Sophronia

Sophronia New Member

editing tips welcome

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Sophronia, Feb 2, 2008.

I am currently revising some of my manuscripts (correcting grammar, spelling, etc.). I've had lots of experience in novice editing so far, but I was wondering if anyone here can give me advice on editing my own work and other people's work.
    I appreciate the help.

2. Charisma

Charisma Transposon Contributor

I don't know if I sound foolish telling some basics, but I've heard these basics can take one a long way.
    -Read out loud. It really helps with expression and stupid typos.
    -Have someone else read your work. It depends that in what state of mind they read your work, so make sure they are the kind who read thoroughly and carefully.
    -Use an authentic word processor (by authentic, I mean with a good store of thesaurus and/or spell-check. Although thesaurus isn't much of a need, you may find it helpful in some cases).
    -Read over and over again, but when your mind is clear of your previous review. In this way, each item you read it your mind will evaluate it in a different angle, or a fresher manner, thus you may come up with something better.
    Basically, it applies to both you and someone else's work.
    For plot, theme and characters, you should evaluate your understanding of all the aspects, and then try to see where your concept was insecure and why.

3. lordofhats

lordofhats New Member

My teacher says to read the story backwards. I haven't tried it yet but she says that when you go in the opposite direction you often end up noticing things one normally wouldn't if they read it straight forward.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor