1. Mrs.Smith

Mrs.Smith Member

Verb tense?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Mrs.Smith, Dec 9, 2017.

Don't laugh, it's been 30 years since I sat in an English classroom and I honestly don't remember the proper terms for what I want to ask. Yeah, I'm an editor, but I edit non-fiction and in 12 years this has never come up in a non-fiction article.

My MS is first-person POV and I'm struggling with action words. Here's an example. The main character is watching this happen:

“You let us know if you have any questions, Mr. Tucker,” Josh said, stepping around the man and opening the door for him.

“You let us know if you have any questions, Mr. Tucker,” Josh said, as he stepped around the man and opened the door for him.

And does anything change if I add in a few more words to give insight to Josh's attitude?

“You let us know if you have any questions, Mr. Tucker,” Josh said, in a civil but not particularly friendly tone as he stepped around the man and opened the door for him.

All three sound right, but when an agent or editor reads my pages, which are they going to want to see?

For some reason I've been struggling with this, both as the narrator describes what others are doing and as she's thinking to herself. It isn't just this one sentence, of course. I'm at 20K words and have used both (both what? tenses?) throughout - I need to fix this before I get any further along, to save work later.

2. mashers

mashers Contributor Contributor Community Volunteer

Either of those sentences is fine. The main lexical verb in the sentence is 'said', which is past tense. Whether you use 'as he stepped...' or 'stepping...', the verb 'to step' is an auxiliary verb in both cases, so the main verb implies the tense of the sentence. In other words, which one you use is entirely up to you, as both sentences are correctly structured past tense.