1. obis

obis New Member

Hello all, i am new to writing.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by obis, Jul 20, 2013.

Hello everybody, I am new to writing and would like to know how to write a paragraph properly and was wondering if you guys could help me learn the hamburger paragraph. I know that the first sentence in a paragraph is the topic sentence and that states your main idea, but it's hard sometimes figuring out how your going to word it. i also know that after the topic sentence you have to state 3 supporting detail and give one supporting example for each. but i am not sure of this. and in the end is the concluding sentence. I am here to learn how to write a proper paragraph and i want to learn also how to use correct transitional words in between my main points or supporting details.

thanks

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I've never heard of a hamburger paragraph before. It sounds like it's used for school essays. Your best bet would be to ask your teacher if you're unsure about it. Also, you may want to search for some example essays online and read through those to see how the author handles transitions between paragraphs/supporting details.

3. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

Hi Obis, first off welcome to the site, stick around and you'll learn lots.

I'm afraid I have no idea about your hamburger rule or paragraph and I haven't time to go look it up. What I would say however is give us more detail, what are you writing? Do you have an idea for a story? Are you staring at a blank page and don't know how to start?

Some people get too het up about apparent bullshit rules to forming a paragraph and lose the nerve to write for fear of being wrong, that it's not the way someone said it should be done.