1. thiefacrobat286

thiefacrobat286 Member

The Catlord's Writing Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by thiefacrobat286, Jun 23, 2019.

I've been feeling very much trapped in my own mind recently. I have one main project that's on hold indefinitely while I work on a side project to get my mind off things. Lately I've been feeling very conflicted about my narrative topics, and I keep going over various scenarios in my head--I'm just kind of dumping everything in my side project for now, because I feel utterly toasted with my main project.

This is not gonna be a full disclosure about my life on my first post, however just a few things: I'm 29 and living and home currently and I've been working on my debut novel for several years now; I was learning the ropes during my early 20s and until like last year really, I've finally found my "routine" and "gotten a hang of things". My literary bio rhythm, just w/e.

I don't play video games at all, but I sometimes still watch them for TV viewing purposes. I spend my times instead on MUDs (Multi User Dungeons); which are a lot more Narrativist than graphic MMOs; and likewise tend to be more like Tabletop than Gaming. The reason for this is so I can feel like I'm somewhere else, some fantasy world perhaps, rather than at my desk. They're entirely text based. I can't get into gaming (or even anime really, which I used to completely love) at all anymore. Totally grown out of it. That said, I still like the anime art style, and it did influence me considerably growing up; I'm just saying, for years by now really--more than several--I just can't take it all that seriously anymore. Both gaming and anime, even if they were influential on me back when I was in school.