Tags:
  1. Antaus

Antaus Active Member

Dealing with a Trial

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Antaus, Apr 3, 2019.

I've run into something I'm stumped by, because I've never done this in a story before. One of the characters I'm writing about is put on trial, accused of a list of crimes. I know enough about trials to at least make things passable, yet I'm at something of an impasse. I'm not sure if I should detail the trial bit by bit, or give a general description of what happens. There also length to consider too. I don't want it to comprise multiple chapters. Really it's more of a catalyst for later events in the story.

2. DPena

DPena Member

I know nothing about the trial process aside from "television court" so personally I would flash forward to the outcome and just give vague details of the actual trial. But that's just me being lazy ;)

Maybe give the details through the story in the local paper, like how some movies/tv shows do the "headline montage."

Or maybe have the locals talking about it in the barber shop/coffee shop/feed store:

"You hear about that Johnson trial?"
    "Yeah, the guy jumped up on the Judge's bench and started clucking like a chicken."
    "Was that before or after the Judge was caught with a prostitute during recess?"

3. XRD_author

XRD_author Banned

Real trials, at least in the US, are boring. Judges do not like being surprised, they like an nice orderly courtroom where things go by the rules.

Lawyers at trials don't like surprises either. Contrary to what you see on TV and movies, the general rule when questioning someone at trial is "never ask a question unless you know what the witness's answer will be." And if you surprise opposing counsel with something, expect them to object -- and have the objection sustained. Ambushing opposing counsel isn't fair, so it isn't tolerated.