Tags:
  1. Vaughan Quincey

Vaughan Quincey Active Member

Currently Reading::
    JG Ballard - Concrete Island

The (long) road taken

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Vaughan Quincey, Mar 7, 2020.

Hey...
    I've been writing for a few years now. Things have changed since my teenager, innocent self had this idea of being a writer -turned out I was one already...
    Anyways, back in those days it seemed that being a self published author could destroy your chances of associating with a serious crowd aka having even the faintest chance of a contract, or an advance for your next book. There used to be this huge stigma floating around every self published writer, both socially and on a professional context. The stigma implied that self published writers had to be awful, otherwise somebody should have discovered them already.
    I've listened to a few amateurish podcasts on self publishing, and my impression has not changed a bit. I have been told to try online services that market and sell your work, all easy-peasy, in fact I've had chats with a few authors using such platforms, none of them seems to be doing reasonably well. None of them was able to switch into professional publishing. All complained about the need to market themselves. I found the whole thing quite surreal, I still do.