1. the1

the1 Active Member

The New Yorker

Discussion in 'Publisher Discussion' started by the1, Feb 25, 2014.

I live in Sydney, Australia so I find it difficult to regularly read this publication. Firstly, the selling price is almost 100% more than what it costs in the US so I am only able to purchase the magazine every now and then. Secondly not all newsagents have this particular publication in stock so sometimes it is a battle to just find it on the shelf.

I was holidaying in Hawaii recently and was very happy to find a copy - although I found it very difficult there too! Is it only here in Australia where we have newsagents? (I couldn't find a dedicated shop selling newspapers/magazines anywhere around Waikiki) But... Eventually I did find a copy at a newsdesk at the departure terminal of the airport! So I was very happy I had something to read on the plane trip home.

But anyway, I am currently studying journalism and really enjoy reading the articles as well as some of the fiction pieces. Because I am not able to read it as regularly as I would like to, I am not sure exactly how it works. If there are any regular readers out there please help me out!

I'm just wondering can anybody submit to the magazine? Or do they have working authors and journalists that contribute?

If anyone can contribute, do they publish first person journalistic pieces? All the pieces I have come across tend to feature something (an individual, company etc) but are written from the perspective as though the author/journalist has followed this person around and is recounting their experiences with this person. I am just wondering whether first person pieces are published at all?

Thanks!

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor