1. phAntAsmAgoriA

phAntAsmAgoriA New Member

Question about the point of view of a short story

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by phAntAsmAgoriA, Mar 12, 2007.

I have an idea for a short story, but it requires that I switch from character to character through out the story. I'm new at writing short stories, so I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of successfully accomplishing this? Thanks for any tips!

2. Domoviye

Domoviye New Member

Proud Canadian. Currently teaching in Nanjing, Chi
    It would be useful to have some more details.
    How many POV's will you have? How long will the short story be, 500-1000 words, 1000-2000, more than that?

Once I have that info, I'll be able to give you some advice.

(Our timing has been really excellent today. You post something and I get on the forum like 5 minutes later. This usually only happens on the "Last person to reply wins thread. :D )

3. phAntAsmAgoriA

I ruined our timing! Uhm...I'm not sure. I don't have the details worked out yet. At least three points of view, I'd say. Maybe a few more. What's going to happen is the story is going to go through a series of years until the guy dies and goes to heaven...so it's going to be broken into several passages to build probably a 1000-2000 word piece. There are probably going to be one-two points of view on each little passage. I'm not sure how to go about that. I'm thinking maybe an omniscient narrator type deal? But I'm not sure how to go about doing that.

Anyway...does that give you enough information to give me some advice?

4. Domoviye

Domoviye New Member

Proud Canadian. Currently teaching in Nanjing, Chi
    Hm, tricky.

Some short stories have the name of the POV character at the start of the new point of view.
    This can work, I've seen at least one good story done like it, but again its not common.