1. Ella Frank

Ella Frank New Member

When to start a new line...

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Ella Frank, Aug 3, 2011.

Ok here's my question.

I am by no means a professional writer. I love to do it, it's a hobby and this page has so many awesome tips and guidelines, my question today is;

when do you move to the next line?

I am talking about after speech in particular. Sorry if this seems like a really silly question and I believe I have the general grasp but I would like some clarification to improve.

Thanks!

Ella
    xx

2. lostinwebspace

lostinwebspace Active Member

You mean when to start a new paragraph? Start a new paragraph when a new thought or idea begins. I know that's open to interpretation since thoughts flow into one another and there's rarely a sharp change in prose. But that's most of the logic behind it. Paragraph breaks are also used for breaks in time, for changes in speakers/dialog, or for dramatic effect. It's best to read-read-read and get an intuition about paragraphs for yourself.

Generally speaking, a new paragraph starts when there's a break in something.

3. Seye

Seye New Member

Writing goes in a natural progression of events....action...reaction.

You mentioned after Speech. I think it would be better if you gave an example of what you mean, often they show the best.

4. lostinwebspace

Just when there's a new speaker. Like so:

"How are you?" John asked.

Fred sighed. "Not so great."

New speaker, new paragraph. This goes for any length of dialog, not just snippets. If John had asked how Fred was and Fred replied with a long diatribe of his week, each speaker would still get a new paragraph. In fact, Fred's reply could be divided up into separate paragraphs if it flowed into separate ideas.

5. Ella Frank

Ella Frank New Member