1. vanilla16

vanilla16 New Member

How are u supposed to use two-em dashes and three-em dashes?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by vanilla16, May 5, 2012.

Everything I've read about them is so confusing, so maybe you guys could explain it to me? =D

2. tristan.n

tristan.n Active Member

I'm not an expert, but to my knowledge, an en dash is used to determine things like range and relation (2011--2012; father--son relationship), whereas an em dash is used as a break in a sentence (He nudged the ball with his foot---that is, he kicked it with all his might---right into the old hag's yard.).
    I think em dashes are pretty similar to parentheses, depending on the context.
    Again, I'm no expert when it comes to this sort of thing. I rely probably too much on auto-correct and the little green error squigglies when I write. :/

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

An en-dash is denoted by a single hyphen in manuscript. An em-dash is denoted by two hyphens. The em-dash is most widely used as one of the three choices for delimiting a parenthetical phrase in a sentence. The other two delimiters are commas and parentheses.

4. live2write

live2write Senior Member

Is this the same in novels where authors would put a long dash (looks like -- but in one single line) in a sentence involving dialogue?

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Yes. An em-dash is a dash nominally as wide as a letter m, and denoted in manuscript by two hyphens.

An en-dash, far less common, is a dash nominally as wide as a letter n. The en-dash and the hyphen are both represented in manuscript by a single hyphen, so conversion to an en-dash is generally a typesetter's choice rather than a writer's choice. The dash used in a number range is an en-dash.

6. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

ditto cog's posts...