1. wolfi

wolfi New Member

Any other six stringers here?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by wolfi, Dec 6, 2010.

Any one else play a six string? (guitar for those who may not know)

2. Radio With Static Arms

Radio With Static Arms New Member

I'm really trying to learn but it's harder than I expected. I can play a few simple acoustic songs but nothing too complicated, Right Away Great Captain, Nick Drake, that sort of thing.

3. wolfi

wolfi New Member

I've been playing for a few years and I learned one thing

some times the essayist songs are the hardiest
    to play
    how long you been playing?

4. Radio With Static Arms

Radio With Static Arms New Member

About half a year, really. Still haven't picked up much, just basic chords really.

5. wolfi

wolfi New Member

The hardest basic chord for me was the Am and D
    (I don't count F as basic)

Half a year is about right form what you told me you can do
    thats when you start playing simple songs

Do you have a teacher or are you self taught?

6. Pallas

Pallas Contributor Contributor

I have a classical guitar I have been trying to learn, on and off for most of the year. I know some of the major and minor chords, but still need practice switching between them; its a bit difficult because of my small hands.

7. wolfi

wolfi New Member

My hands are huge, I'm lucky in a sense but even then i had a problem switching, heck i still do.
    The one thing i learned is when you have small hands you MUST learn how to anchor, learning how will help in so many ways, do you know what i mean when i say anchor right?

If you do just ignore this pos.t :D

A mind chord
    0 open
    1 index
    2 middle
    2 ring

C major
    0 open
    1 INDEX
    0 open
    2 Midlle
    3 Ring
    As you can see the index is on the third string first fret both times and the middle is on the 5 string 2 fret,
    use this to your advantage so now you only have to move one finger the ring.