1. Rynsworld

Rynsworld New Member

I need a twist, or at least I think so.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Rynsworld, Aug 29, 2011.

Hi, I'm new to writing and even newer to this site, so forgive me if this is the wrong place for this thread :)

I have an idea I'm stuck on: It's a science fiction novel about a soldier who has been betrayed by his superiors (he was sent to a warzone where he was supposed to die).
    Him and two other soldiers are the sole survivors of his regiment, considering the betrayal, and after weighing up their options the three of them decide to become bounty hunters; they're good at killing stuff and they need the money.
    They head to their home world of [planet] and go to the nearest planetary enforcer's / police station and see who needs rounding up and for how much, the 'police' insist that an officer accompanies them because they ask for half the money up front (for equipment and all that).
    in the end they catch the bad guy, get their money etc..
    so I have the beginning and the end but a beginning and an end don't make a story, especially when I don't really know what to do with the end.
    The novel needs some meat and potatoes, something to fill it out in the middle, a twist, all that, because at the moment it just isn't that interesting.

thanks in advance :)

2. Backbiter

Backbiter Member

This is just me brainstorming, so we'll see where it goes.

Maybe the officer that gets sent with them could be an undercover member of the "superiors" that betrayed them in the first place? They could have discovered that they survived, and could have sent someone after them, to finish the job. It's a bit cliche, but it's something to work with.

Just an idea, do with it what you will. It's really up to you as the writer of the story to incorporate whatever ideas you think of to keep the plot moving, and create action and excitement.

Best of luck to you!

3. Backbiter

Backbiter Member