1. MythMachine

MythMachine Active Member

Fate: The Path to Certain Destruction

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MythMachine, Aug 8, 2017.

Greetings!

I'm not foolish enough to attempt to claim that my story would be the the first to use the idea of fate. It's an obvious and potentially overused trope that has endured in storytelling for eons. Hell, Greek myth tells of the "Fates", incarnations of destiny. As a living human, I hate the idea of fate and that, regardless of my decisions, I am potentially being led down a narrow path with only one destination. On the flip side, as a writer, I feel myself compelled to explore the concept and try to adapt it in some way into my works.

So my first question is this:
    Is the topic of fate in creative works getting old or can it still be made fresh?

Now, in my graphic novel currently on the brew, fate is a HUGE central plot point, but I'd like to convince myself that I'm doing it in a unique and interesting way.
    The plot itself revolves around a failed author whose life seems to be falling apart around him, so he decides to record and compound his anger, despair, and struggles into a final manuscript, publish it openly on the web, and take his own life. When finished, the novel tells of man's destructive tendencies awakening a power deep within the earth, which comes alive to fight back against and eventually end humanity, then recreate the world into a "better place". Strangely enough, before he commits suicide, he notices that his manuscript receives rave reviews from online readers and many independent critics who admire the honesty and no-holds-barred style of his writing. This rekindles his desire to live and pursue his dream.