Tags:
  1. booksofkae

booksofkae Member

Thesaurus use

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by booksofkae, Sep 10, 2019.

Hello writers who know more than me!

I am a very new writer in creative writing (typically, I do academic writing), and I wondering what people do here for synonyms. I typically use thesaurus.com but I sometimes wonder if it's actually a bit limiting; I am literally only using one thesaurus. Do people have other sources that they use? Would it be best to use multiple sources to find that one word you know would fit perfectly? I keep thinking I should buy a variation of thesauruses (-i? -us? 3rd declension Greek? -ugh!) to have a wider pool to dip in and out of.

Just curious what other people do. (Sorry, this is probably very basic, but I am quite new to everything!)

~Kae

2. NiallRoach

NiallRoach Contributor Contributor

Generally the advice is to not use them. It's very easy to fall into purple prose with so many delicious looking words on offer. I don't think you need to worry about missing out on anything by only using one, though.

My favourite piece of advice on the topic is to never use a thesaurus to find a word you don't know. Jog your memory, sure, but not more.

booksofkae and deadrats like this.
  3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

tbh i rarely use them at all - i am widely read and use my own vocabulary... the danger with thesaurus is that you wind up using words you don't really understand and/or those that sound false

thesaurus.jpg

4. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor