1. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

Things to do in Edinburgh

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by matwoolf, Jun 25, 2017.

I'm the spare part on a business trip to Edinburgh.

We'll be staying in a mid-range hotel - although I'm not even getting breakfast in the deal - don't ask me why, something technical. So, I have two days of wandering around the streets of Edinburgh (on my own) to do. I'm no novice in these matters, I have walked Dublin & Amsterdam solo.

Also, it has to be a free activity, maybe something interesting that gives me material for the Friday night when I must drink whisky with Glaswegians (men).

What shall I do in Edinburgh? Serious proposals only please, I am a professional.

2. NigeTheHat

NigeTheHat Contributor Contributor

Climb Arthur's Seat, plant a flag. Not the English one, it's bad press. Go the wrong way and lay stones in a fairy ring, use the story of your subsequent escape from the Wild Hunt to win you many drinks in Glasgow.

matwoolf likes this.
  3. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

I'll think I'll wander the National Gallery in an anorak, buy a postcard from the gallery shop. Can't see myself visiting a cafe, or anything quite so agonizing, can't even order a coffee without seizure at the till...

'What sort of coffee?'

'Urrr...urr...coffee latte cappucino espresso double frothy with cinammon tea, please.'

'There you are, Pops. £8.50, and have a nice dee.'

Or maybe visit a graveyard? Burke & Hare is Edinburgh, I believe? In the Highlands I visited a clan graveyard, really frightened myself in the glaum, gloom, glee [Scottish word]. Dusk approacheth, and the clock struck two.

Probably hope to find a tartan tea towel and Scottish rock in a safety shops for visitors/tourists, shortbread & haggis.