1. Albirich

Albirich Active Member

Quick to judging fantasy

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Albirich, Jun 9, 2016.

So I've been working on my novel for three years, and I categorize it in the dark fantasy genre. With this in mind I've found that people are quick to judge without even knowing the wider plots. It is a medieval fiction, yes, and as a high percentage of such fiction it is inspired by the medieval ages of England.

For a realistic portrayal of how things worked there will have to be court (political) intrigue, and of course in most stories there are betrayals and dramatic turns of events. One would also want, for a realistic portrayal, different major houses, vassals and barons and so forth. (This is fiction however, so everything doesn't have to be spot on, there can be differences). This is where the trouble sets in, I'm sure a few if not more think of A Song of Ice and Fire and / or Game of Thrones. (Which the court intrigue is a twist of the War of the Roses, of course with GRRM's personal touch here and there)

So if I am questioned "what is your book about?" I'd not go into a lot of details, I'd rather explain it's a dark fantasy with a lot of political intrigue, betrayals and of course battles and war. It also has a high touch of religion, in which there is an inner battle of two different doctrines. Then there's the fantasy aspect which I won't go into detail because of spoilers, and the brewing of conflict between two sovereign nations, and a third subdued one. And then I get the reply "Well so it's just a Game of Thrones copy, or?"
    I know this is not the case for a number of reasons, but I have a hard time getting the point across without just blathering out spoilers. (Even then I dunno where to begin because it's massive) I can tell them I worked on it before I even knew of the books or the TV show, but who's going to believe me? They might, but yeah...