1. rinnika

rinnika Member

A stranger approaches...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rinnika, Aug 31, 2018.

Hey guys!

I'm an aspiring writer from England, new around here. :) I'm feeling generally a little out of my depth when it comes to me actually being a writer though. Any advice you guys can think of that would have helped you in the early days?

I write because it is the only thing I am any good at and I love it, even though I have always been a bit shy to put my work out there. The characters are my absolute favourite part. I enjoy reading anything that bends the rules of its genre. I tend not to read much romance - I guess it's not really my thing. I stick more in the realm of fantasy, mystery or adventure in my own creative endeavours. I haven't written action or sci-fi much, nor romance, historical or fanfiction (frankly, I wouldn't even know where to start writing a romance story). To be honest, there is a lot I haven't done but I want to try everything at least once. I'm not certain if that is a good or bad thing?

I'm super happy to be here and excited to learn from all you guys who are so much more experienced than I am!

ixk, Archnovice and demifiend like this.
  2. demifiend

demifiend New Member

There's no such thing as a good first draft, especially if you're new to the craft. The vast majority of a writer's work is turd-polishing. You start with a piece of crap, and you compress and polish it until you've got a chunk of coprolite that untrained eyes (readers who aren't also writers) mistake for diamond.

That's why it's important to finish the story. Don't write one and a half chapters, get discouraged, and start over. Finish the damn story, because you can't polish the turd until you've squeezed it all out.