1. soital

soital New Member

Is there a formula for fantasy characters??

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by soital, Nov 5, 2011.

Is there a formula for fantasy characters?? I'm trying to make sure my main character has all the detail and aspects neccessary to be "good". Also concerning secondary characters, is there a level of detail required to be mentioned, or a level to stop detailing at?

2. adrenaline7

adrenaline7 New Member

While I'm not an expert in any field in writing, I would strongly suggest you try to stay away from formulas. While characters are easily recognisable that way, it gets tiresome with so many predictable characters being black-and-white when it comes to "good" or "bad", even with appearance (check it: most Disney villians will either wear red or purple clothing). I'd suggest try something a little more unusual, like an anti-hero of sorts, still a good guy but with his own motives than just saving the princess and killing the evil king or whatever.

3. Thanshin

Thanshin Active Member

The only interest to finding such "formulas" is to break them.

The problem to avoid is finding a formula, breaking it and failing to see that by breaking it, one has fallen into an even more overused formula.

4. Jhunter

Jhunter Mmm, bacon. Contributor

I agree with everyone else. Don't write with a formula. Write what you think is awesome and see where it goes. It is fiction, you can literally do whatever you want.

5. Cacian

Cacian Banned

I guess there is a formula and that is the of
    PERFECT beings.
    take a witch for example if you look up its entry on the dictionary it is this one:
    A woman thought to have evil magic powers. Witches are popularly depicted as wearing a black cloak and pointed hat.
    what you do is take that as your basic and you apply the total effect to it.