1. TeeBee2011

TeeBee2011 New Member

Characters in a children's book

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by TeeBee2011, Dec 6, 2011.

Hi,

Mr Newbie here...

I’m writing a story for children around the ages of 11-13 and am after some advice.

When a character has a particular quick, should I over-emphasis it and mention it regularly throughout the story?. For example, if a 30 year old male character enjoys eating toffee sweets, should I mention that fact constantly during the story so that the reader relates to which character I’m writing about (John reached for another toffee as he drove the car into the petrol station etc.) . Or will the reader get bored if I keep mentioning John’s toffee eating, and should stop it once I think the character is defined?

Thanks

Tony

2. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

I think you could get away with going into his habits in detail at some point in time in the beginning of the story, and then casually mentioning it when it's relevant to the story after. I wouldn't write a paragraph on his toffee eating after they have already read about it before, but you could write a line that mentions it every now and then. I think sometimes it's important that if a character has specific habits they need to be brought up. So as long as you don't bring an extraordinary amount of attention to it I think you'll be fine.

3. AmyHolt

AmyHolt New Member

Totally agree. Mention it some but if you mention it too much then you'd have to use it to move the plot forwards, like he became a suspect to the crime because they found toffee crumbs. Okay dumb example but it'd end up seeming like a gun introduced in act one that didn't get fired.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

never annoy the readers with 'over-emphasis' of anything!

take the good advice offered above...

5. Anna Gergen

Anna Gergen New Member