1. lemurkat

lemurkat New Member

Plot suggestions - brain picking time

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by lemurkat, Dec 29, 2010.

I've been writing a story on and off for the last 7 years. I have a premise and characters, but I am struggling for a plot. I'm posting this here as a hope that someone will say something that plants a seed into my mind from which it can germinate into my story.

Genre: Fantasy with a real-world basis
    Target Audience: teenagers and adults (a "crossover" novel).

The Characters:
    Caitlin - a teenage girl who lives with her mother in a small country town. She does not know her father, and has always been lead to believe he wa a good-for-nothing varmint who left before she was born. Once upon a time she pretended he was a prince, or a musician or some sort of hero-figure who left her and her mum not because he didn't want them, but because he lost his memory or was kidnapped. Typical teenage dreams.
    (Caitlin and Julia did have a surname, I've just currently forgotten it).

Julia - Caitlin's mother. At the moment she's a doctor*, and is very busy at the local hospital meaning she does not spend much quality time with her daughter.

Mephistopheles - an aye-aye. He's the Familiar of Sebastian LaRoque and has found his way into our world for some currently unspecified reason, although he is probably looking for either Caitlin or Julia.

Sebastian LaRoque - a magician/sorcerer. He lives outside our world, in a mysterious Otherworld known as Lemuria. When he crosses into our world, he begins to age, but in Lemuria he remains ageless. About 15 years ago he met Julia whilst running an errand on Earth. He is Caitlin's father. Only, she doesn't know it yet...

The Premise: