1. omghelp

omghelp New Member

need help avoiding similar plots

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by omghelp, Oct 25, 2010.

Here is a very rough outline of my first chapter as well as my intentions as to where i would like my story to go. I am a VERY inexperienced writer as far as sci-fi type plots go, which is why I am searching to pick anyone's brain who has some solid ideas.

Chapter 1 begins with the two main characters, John and his gf Serena. They live in SF and have been together for years. He has planned 'the perfect day' for Serena with the intention of proposing to her on the Golden Gate Bridge as the sun sets. As he is reaching for the engagement ring, he sees a man standing on the railing of bridge. The man jumps, and right before he SHOULD hit the water, he looks at John and then a bright light flashes and the jumper vanishes. (Also, John captured a photo of him right when the jumper looked at him.)

Chapter 2 begins with John and Serena still standing at the bridge. She is completely wigged out as is John. John tries to explain to her that the jumper vanished and didnt hit the water. So he goes to pull the camera out of his pocket to show her, and the ring falls out. She starts to cry. THEN COMES THE PART I NEED HELP WITH....Here is where we switch POV, and it is now a man and a woman in a room. The man is the jumper (Griffin) and the woman is Serena. However, the audience will NOT know it is Serena until the end of the chapter.

I need to develop some kind of mission that Serena and Griffin are on. Something similar to the ideas of "Jumper," "Inception," and "Being John Malkovich" all tied together in an original way, without getting to be too close to the plots of these movies. Serena lives a double life that John doesnt know about. Griffin "jumped" in front of John because Griffin is convinced that him and Serena need John for part or all of their "mission."