1. Vi Ladoli

Vi Ladoli New Member

Too much dying?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Vi Ladoli, Oct 3, 2009.

Hi there. I'm new around this place, but please allow me to make the first thread.

I am currently working on a novel, though I'm just a beginner (been writing for 2 years, though I think I'm still in a huge need for improvement). Now, I've thought of a plot and am now in the writing phase.

Now as new ideas come, I get the tendency to make one of the supporting characters die. I plan to change it though.

But let me ask, is too much dying a bad thing?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Too much of anything is, by definition, bad.

Death is a major event with widespread impact. If it has a real purpose in the story, then keep it, If it doesn't, leave it out.

3. HorusEye

HorusEye Contributor Contributor

A single death that causes profound changes in your story is infinitely more dramatic than having supporting cast drop left and right.

4. Vi Ladoli

Vi Ladoli New Member

The current ones I've planned out have the reasons to:
    1) Anger one of the protagonists to further hate the enemy
    2) Give despair to a lover

Though there have been times when a secondary character dies, but out of an event with not much impact or purpose. I guess deaths should reall hit hard

5. SPOILER ALERT

I've read many death scenes and the ones that really gave me the "this is so good" feeling where when Macros died in Magician: Master ( I think that was the one, I read it soooooooo long ago) by Raymond E Feist. Another great death scene was Snape's in Harry Potter. Call me narrow minded, but I liked that one.

I absolutely detest when an author kills off a character the reader has just met, hoping for a dramatic effect. The latest one I've read was the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan where Percy's mom dies in like chapter three. That book is quite enjoyable nevertheless, so I continued reading it anyways.