Tags:
  1. Nairda

Nairda New Member

Help with plot points in romance story

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Nairda, Mar 30, 2010.

I've been reviewing a romance book my wife wrote, and I think I've been looking at it too long. I need some third-party feedback. I edit for a living, but I've never edited fiction before, so I'm not so good at dealing with plot holes. My focus has always been on spelling, grammar, and punctuation.

OK, here goes ...

Basic premise: Drummer in a famous band has a stalker. He falls for a woman who catered one of the band's shows. (She and her business partner/best friend are both lifelong friends of the singer's girlfriend.) They talk on the phone while he's on tour, they develop romantic feelings, he comes to see her after the tour, and they have a whirlwind fling. They both feel like they're falling in love, but being from different worlds, they don't think it would ever work.

Singer and his girlfriend get married, and Drummer and Caterer attend the wedding together, along with Caterer's business partner. Wedding is held at Drummer's house. Drummer and Caterer declare their love for each other and vow to find a way to be together. But Drummer finds a threatening note the day of the wedding from his stalker, saying "I saw you with her. I thought we had something special. She took what's mine and I won't allow that."

Drummer freaks out and sends Caterer and business partner back home the next day while Drummer stays behind to "take care of some business," not wanting Caterer to worry about Stalker. He thinks she'll be safe as long as they're apart. He gets the band's manager to hire an investigator to find Stalker.

While they're apart, Caterer's bakery burns down, and her business partner is injured in the fire. Drummer flies to see her and takes the blame, assuming it was Stalker. She's livid that he didn't tell her about the note from Stalker and tells him she never wants to see him again.