1. Grimsy

Grimsy New Member

Trouble with simpler story ideas

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Grimsy, Sep 10, 2019.

I love to write. It is without a doubt my dream. But I have a problem, every idea I have is some new great big epic story which as a young writer I will obviously struggle to do. I cannot seem to come up with short story ideas which is obviously where I should be starting. Does anyone else have experience with this issue? Is there any advice I can get for trying to find short story Ideas?
    The main thing I have trouble with is trying to cram any sort of a structure into a short story.

2. aModernHeathen

aModernHeathen Banned

Well, that depends on what you mean by a short, simple story. How are you differentiating a "great big epic story" from a "short story?" I mean, other than length, obviously. Is it that once you start writing, you can't stop, and end up making the story way longer or more intricate than you think it should be?

It sounds, maybe, like your issue is in revising & editing and not drafting. Are you afraid to get rid of certain parts of the story or something?

It would help if you could expand on this here so I can understand exactly what you mean. Thanks.

3. EFMingo

EFMingo A Modern Dinosaur Supporter Contributor

I dont know who said you need to start with short stories. Better off if you just start writing. Big idea? Big goals? Not gonna get done waiting around to do something smaller or what you believe you need to do first.

How about you get your big work off your chest, then when you need some breaks or are wore out, launch a couple little ideas out there. Also, spend some time giving serious critiques of others work and a lot of reading.

Good luck and have fun.

jannert and aModernHeathen like this.
  4. Seven Crowns

Seven Crowns Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor Contest Winner 2022