Tags:
  1. jmh105

jmh105 Active Member

Deciding on location -- Fictitious or Real?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by jmh105, Nov 24, 2015.

Hello everyone, I want to place my story in a realistic setting, and I was thinking somewhere in either the United States or Canada. However, I am not sure whether I should place them in a city I make up or in an already established city (i.e. Chicago). If I am not comfortable with where's where in the city I choose or what streets border which streets, would it be best if I made up the location? Have you seen authors do this?

If you would advise against creating my own city for the setting, how should I go about placing them in a real city? Do authors who use real-life cities have to know the specifics of that city in order to make it work? I feel that if I studied up on even my own home city, I wouldn't remember where's where.

2. KhalieLa

KhalieLa It's not a lie, it's fiction. Contributor

If you are going to place the story in a real city, you may have to do a bit of research, just as those who write historical fiction do.

And--the research just might inspire you to include interesting local elements into the plot.

3. Robert Musil

Robert Musil Comparativist Contributor

I would say you should do some research--for me, Google streetview has been invaluable. It's not as good as actually going somewhere, but it definitely helps you get what the view from a certain location looks like (i.e what kinds of buildings, is it hilly or flat, how much vegetation, etc.). I've always loved maps anyway and found them to be a source of inspiration, and street view just adds another layer.