1. Coldste

Coldste New Member

Trying to get back into writing

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Coldste, Sep 4, 2018.

Ok I haven’t wrote properly for ages and I want to get back to writing again, I have lots of stories I want to rewrite since they where all my first attempts at writing, but whenever I go to write I find myself just looking at either a blank page or writing a few words then deleting it. Any advice on how I can get my writing back? Cheers in advance

2. Shenanigator

Shenanigator Not a Fucking Doormat Contributor

It depends on whether you're a planner who writes from an outline, or if you're a discovery writer who just writes. I'm a discovery writer (ETA so for me, plot comes from the emotions of the characters, rather than casting characters for a predetermined plot), so my method would be to focus on what emotions I want to bring out of the characters and focus on editing one chapter at a time or one paragraph at a time. Staring at a blank page when I have pages to work from is a no-go.

3. nycoma

nycoma Active Member

open a new document and start writing about anything, whatever comes to your head. it will look like the desperate scratchings of a madman at first, but later you start catching real thoughts as they come.

mykl ruby likes this.
  4. GlitterRain7

GlitterRain7 Galaxy Girl Contributor

You have to accept that you probably won't feel 100% happy with what you write at first. You just have to keep writing, though. And then you need to remember that you'll go back and make it something you're more happy with during revision.

Shenanigator and Linz like this.
  5. Siberian

Siberian Member

Try imitating the writing of your favorite scenes in books by rewriting it word for word or maybe adding your own spin on a character, scene, plot point, etc.. As you do that maybe your brain will start to come up with ideas for you to write on your own.

6. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor