Tags:
  1. MilesTro

MilesTro Senior Member

Writing Fear and describing a scary setting

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by MilesTro, Aug 26, 2012.

I am new at writing a story that suppose to sound scary and spice it up using sensual words. I also want to learn how you can describe a setting that sounds creepy. Do you have any examples that can help me?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Description and word choice can certainly help, but character reactions do far more to set the tone.

For examples, I'll leave that more to those who are far more into the horror genre.

3. Michelle Stone

Michelle Stone Member

I would think that your plot and characters should be creepy. The setting is just the spice. I think too many aspiring writers focus too much on the setting and forget that they have a story to tell.

4. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

I'd say read early King, Koontz and Clive Barker to see how the aspects are put together. Stories like Christine and It are very good at it. It really messed with my mind when I read that book. Watch how King makes it work, and Koontz's work..

5. MilesTro

MilesTro Senior Member

I can't handle reading those books. They have too much descriptions hard for me to understand I prefer books like James Patterson. His writing is fast paced and his chapters are very short.

6. DanesDarkLand

DanesDarkLand New Member