Tags:
  1. JessWrite

JessWrite Word Nerd & Proud! Contributor

Two Main Characters?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by JessWrite, Jan 21, 2012.

Hi Everyone, it's my first time asking for advice, so here I go...:D

I'm currently in the thought process, and going into the first draft of writing a fantasy story. The gist of it, is that there are two girls with very different lives that have shaped them into who they are. There's a twist between the girls and how they're related, and they eventually meet in the story.

I was wondering how to go about having two main characters? Is it possible? Do one of the girls have to be more of the 'main' character than the other?

Also, I was wanting to jump from one girl's life to the other by chapters...would that confuse the reader?

Thanks so much! :)

2. Hellchoseme

Hellchoseme New Member

Try reading the painted man by Peter v. Brett. There are three main characters that the point of view swaps every chapter. The point of view will stay the same throughout the chapter. That stands if the other two are present at the time.

3. Cacian

Cacian Banned

Hi Jess
    I have written a couple of short stories where the two characters are main characters.
    In fact I write stories where there are no main character.
    I tend to use less characters per story and my characters are all equally important to the story and to themselves.
    That is my style.

4. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

I don't see any reason why you can't do this. I've read several books that do exactly that. Sometimes the author shows the same situation through each MC; sometimes the author uses the MCs to progress, each one moving the story a little further. Neither character was more important than the other. As long as you can clearly differentiate the two, and don't do a slam-into-the-wall changeover, it can work just fine.

5. miss sunhine

miss sunhine New Member