1. JCowboy

JCowboy Member

Two Questions: Tips for writing fiction in general, and tips for writing your first novel/novella.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by JCowboy, Sep 12, 2017.

I'm a fairly decent writer, but certainly no expert. I have recently gotten hooked on writing fiction, but can't seem to formulate much past 3 or 4 pages of writing. I want to finish the story but I have no clue how. I thought it might be helpful to get some general tips on writing from community members (as opposed to single lists written by one author). Also,-and please don't criticize for wanting to rush into this-for reasons of my own, I may end up starting a novel/novella soon of about 200-300 pages. Any tips for writing your first novel/novella?

2. John Calligan

John Calligan Contributor Contributor

I think it's easier to write when I have a solid one sentence idea that gives me the conflict:

What if X thought they had to do this thing but couldn't because of this and that?

Then I think through a couple of characters that interest me and figure out how they might get in one another's way.

Shenanigator and anitaex100 like this.
  3. JCowboy

JCowboy Member

Wow, thanks! That's a really great idea! I'll try that.

John Calligan likes this.
  4. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

What's stalling you is not knowing what to write next, so the logical thing would be to plan out your novella/novel before you write. There are lots of ways to plan, but a simple one would be a one/two sentence summary of each chapter.

Things to think about when planning:
    • What's your main character's (or characters') arc? How does he or she change from page 1 to page 300?
    • What is your main character's goal?
    • What's stopping them achieving that goal?
    • What's at stake if they fail?