1. HisSweetheart

HisSweetheart Member

How much research is needed?

Discussion in 'Research' started by HisSweetheart, Jun 14, 2017.

Something I've wondered about is how much research should you do before writing about a certain topic or era. Should you only write about things you know or does it matter? I know for fantasy or science-fi it doesn't matter but what about other than that? I have an idea for a story that is set back in the time of kings and queens but not England. I'll probably end making up my own country/countries for it. I'm a very inexperienced writer as I have started several stories but only finished three that I had to do for Lit. in high school. So I guess I asking what is needed and what can be made up.

Thanks!

2. Robert Musil

Robert Musil Comparativist Contributor

As you'll find if you hang around this forum long enough, the answer to every question is "it depends".

It depends on your personal preference. It depends on your genre, and audience. You say it doesn't matter for fantasy or sci-fi, but there are hard-sci-fi people out there that love a story based in well-researched, actual science--think of The Martian. And a lot of the fantasy par excellence, LOTR, was informed by Tolkien's lifetime as a professor of Anglo-Saxon. He used his knowledge of archaic languages to help invent his various forms of Elvish, and also took a lot of inspiration from Anglo-Saxon and Scandinavian mythology to inform his backstory.

It also depends on what you're researching, and what you count as research--do you mean only reading primary or secondary sources, or can you research in other ways (observation as you go about your own life, for instance?).

I mean, the real answer is that you need as much research as it takes for the story to be done.

Simpson17866 likes this.
  3. HisSweetheart

HisSweetheart Member