Tags:
  1. jonathan hernandez13

jonathan hernandez13 Contributor Contributor

Unpublished writers/Publishing Magazines

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by jonathan hernandez13, May 20, 2009.

Given that I am an unpublished and unknown writer, should I send a query letter or solicit my submission (to a magazine that publishes unprofessional writers) if they make no mention of it in their submission guidelines? I take it that most of the stories they receive are from unpublished writers. An example of their submission guidelines is below.

Analog Science Fiction and Fact

Story Content
    Analog will consider material submitted by any writer, and consider it solely on the basis of merit. We are definitely eager to find and develop new, capable writers.
    We have no hard-and-fast editorial guidelines, because science fiction is such a broad field that I don't want to inhibit a new writer's thinking by imposing Thou Shalt Nots. Besides, a really good story can make an editor swallow his preconceived taboos.

Basically, we publish science fiction stories. That is, stories in which some aspect of future science or technology is so integral to the plot that, if that aspect were removed, the story would collapse. Try to picture Mary Shelley's Frankenstein without the science and you'll see what I mean. No story!

The science can be physical, sociological, psychological. The technology can be anything from electronic engineering to biogenetic engineering. But the stories must be strong and realistic, with believable people (who needn't be human) doing believable thingsā€“no matter how fantastic the background might be.

Fact Articles Fact articles for Analog should be about 4,000 words in length and should deal with subjects of not only current but future interest, i.e., with topics at the present frontiers of research whose likely future developments have implications of wide interest. Illustrations should be provided by the author in camera-ready form.