1. Ziggy.

Ziggy. Active Member

US courts, trials, and the insanity please.

Discussion in 'Research' started by Ziggy., Feb 24, 2021.

I'm just curious about a few questions.

I've got a side-character who's shot and killed a police officer. They're arrested and plead non-guilty by insanity. I have a few questions below.

Can families be present for the verdict of said character?

How long do trials/verdicts usually take in real-time? Six hours or more?

If somebody is not guilty by insanity, are they detained a psychiatric unit without probation?

2. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023

I can tell you that a murder trial in the U.S. would take more like 6 days or weeks at the minimum with any competent defense attorney.

3. Ziggy.

Ziggy. Active Member

Can you emphasize on this?

4. Bruce Johnson

No, I'm not a lawyer or involved in the judicial system, but just keeping up with current events, news, etc., I know that 6 hours is far too short for a murder trial.

My recommendation would be to read up on some famous murder cases and also some not so famous ones to get a gauge for how the process works.

For starters, it wasn't (technically) a murder trial, but the case of John Hinckley Jr., the man that shot Ronald Reagan, covers some of the things you ask about (insanity defense, incarceration and treatment of the criminally insane). Keep in mind this is a high profile case like the O.J. Simpson case so you should research less famous cases to get a handle on typical timelines, strategies, etc.

5. SapereAude

SapereAude Contributor Contributor

It wasn't a police officer, but the trial of George Zimmerman in Florida is a good example of a "high profile" murder trial, and you should assume that any trial for the murder of a police officer would be "high profile." The Wikipedia article on the case lays out the time line: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trial_of_George_Zimmerman