1. Azurisy

Azurisy Banned

Writing with Artistry

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Azurisy, Jan 9, 2014.

Dear everyone,

I would like to discuss under the section, Word Mechanics, some issues regarding the aesthetics of writing styles. I seek to develop a very distinctive writing style. However, I need to learn and find inspiration from good authors and writings. I want to write novels beautifully and artistically, and in fact, was spending inordinate amounts of time on editing and polishing first few paragraphs with a very little substantiveness. The way in which I did this was to feel each word, according to its appearance and font on the screen and paper, and its sound, and the overall flow and imagery (meaning) of words. I am a perfectionist type of writer, who has to match his fine art and architectural design skills with writing skills in order to create richly illustrated novels.

A few phrases, no matter the context, that appeal to me according to their imagery (meaning) as well as the written appearance, conventional word usage and sound are as follows.

1. 'I was snowed under with...' This is a known figure of speech and I know its meaning is 'to be loaded with heavy work'. However, I want to experiment with use of words so that all phrases are logical, grammatically correct, intelligible but also aesthetically pleasant. In this case, I could write and perceive this phrase as a white lady wearing long sleeve collared shirt, and skirt, who was pale and so on. What I am trying to say may appear absolutely absurd and weird though.
    2. 'They all are jaded anyways.' I love this word jaded - it means being surfeit and wearisome. However, the reason is that this word conjures the imagery of people being 'teal and bluish'.
    3. 'I will give you a hand'. This is another lovely phrase which means willing to help.