1. Fiction General

Fiction General New Member

Using +ing clauses vs compound structures

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Fiction General, May 20, 2020.

Hi all,

I'm new here but I'm an aspiring writer who was hoping you could help me with some feedback on grammar and style.

Here are some examples from my writing:

On the southern wing of the building was a tall clock tower, but the clock face was missing, and it left a large circular hole.

On the southern wing of the building was a tall clock tower, but the clock face was missing, leaving a large circular hole.

Then, realising its own had gone ahead, it raced away and bounded over a large plastic water tank, and leapt across to the next building.

Then, realising its own had gone ahead, it raced away and bounded over a large plastic water tank, leaping across to the next building.

Obviously in the second examples, I'm using the +ing clause, as far as I understand it, whereas in the first I'm using a compound structure with an independent clause.

I suppose my question is what effect does each have on the reader? Is one preferable to the other? Any general feedback would be appreciated. Sometimes I wonder if my writing has too many of the +ing clauses.

2. Friedrich Kugelschreiber

Friedrich Kugelschreiber marshmallow Contributor

I usually prefer the first examples in sentences like these, but that is completely attributable to preference.
    In reference to your second pair of sentences, technically use of the participle means that the leaping is occurring simultaneously to the bounding, which makes no sense.

J.D. Ray likes this.
  3. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

The first pair, I would choose the second. The hole is still there, so continuous tense is more appropriate.

The first sentence implies that the clock face being missing is the active cause of the hole - it isn't, it's whatever caused the clock face to be missing in the first place.