1. CharlieVer

CharlieVer Contributor Contributor

Using Lyric Quotes

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by CharlieVer, Mar 2, 2009.

Hi,

I'm an unpublished author. I wrote the first draft of my first novel last year (and recently submitted my first draft to the copyright office) and am working on redrafting. I hope in the near future to share some portions for feedback and discussion.

For now, I have this question about using outside quotes:

My novel contains certain references in pop culture. In my story, can I use short quotes from music without copyright infringement?

For example: One of my characters is reminded of an old Beatles song, and the words play in his head: "Friday night arrives without a suitcase, Sunday morning creeping like a nun, Monday's child has learned to tie his bootlegs, See how they run…"

The song Lady Madonna, which this is an excerpt from, is of course, material for which someone else owns the copyright. Am I breaking copyright law by including this small excerpt from the song in the mind of my character?

Thanks,
    Charlie Versfelt

2. Acglaphotis

Acglaphotis New Member

I doubt so. You can't copyright exact sequence of words, unless it's the whole song. Even then, take my thoughts as null and find out for real in the copyright website (I had it sometime ago, but I lost it).

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Don't quote lyrics withoutr permission in your writing, unless you have a great deal of money and assets and time you wish to dispose of. The music industry is very unforgiving on such matters.

Acglaphotis, sorry, but you are wrong. An entire piece of writing is what is copyrighted, but lifting even a short piece from an identifiable source is still copyright infringement. There are "fair use" conditions for short passages, but inserting it into your own work-for-publication isw bound to land you in trouble.

4. pacmansays

pacmansays New Member