1. Esaul

Esaul New Member

Creating Worlds

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Esaul, Nov 10, 2006.

Okay as some might already know I am a fantasy writer, and I would love to have some opinions on something I've been debating about for a while now. I have a land known as Quar, I have several cities in mind and a couple countries as well. The main question is how many nations should be in the story itself? How much would you guys expect in detail of the land? I know too much can be too confusing for people (unless there is a map but as if now i have none), or too little will make the story very limited.

2. Fixed

Fixed New Member

I write mainly fantasy as well (well right now i'm actually writing a kind of fiction/reality story but that's beyond the point)
    who says you can't create as big a world as you wish?
    who says you can't let only some parts of the world known to the reader?

basically my point is you can create any world you want but in order as to not confuse the reader too much don't write about every area of the world at the same time. Of course you want people to explore the world but that's why many fantasy writers explore the orld through a series of books if the world is really that big.
    Personally I hate creating small worlds, not only does it limit me, but if the world has two or three nations it just doesn't seem realistic in comparison to Earth so I have a big world in mind which the readers discover as the story goes along, since the MC/MC's whether he likes it or not ends up having an adventure of some sort across the world.

3. Sapphire

Sapphire New Member