1. barcelonic

barcelonic Member

Can somebody offer me a brief plot for a narrative poem?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by barcelonic, Sep 21, 2012.

I am a completely uninspired person. I cannot remember the last time I read any creative writing, but i'm a decent writer once I have something to write about.

I've recently developed an interest in poetry and of course it is no different. The creative process does not come easy to me, so I had hoped somebody could offer me a brief plot
    with which I can use to write a narrative poem, as a part of practicing, and testing my aptitude for it I guess.

Anyways, does anybody have a lightbulb on right now as I could sure use a few plot suggestions,

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

If you want to be a creative writer, you should read more creative writing. You should also be able to come up with your own ideas.

This thread may come in handy.

By the way, welcome to the forum.

3. barcelonic

barcelonic Member

thanks thirdwind.

I've always found it best to play to one's strengths and so I hold no ambition to be a creative writer, just a better one. I intend to write non-fiction, but right now I'm just taking the time to improve and become a better writer overall.
    I'd like to practice narrative poetry as i feel poetry will really work my vocabulary.

Thanks for the thread link - still if you can think of a topic that you feel is poetical it'd be much appreciated, just like your kind welcome :)

4. DefinitelyMaybe

DefinitelyMaybe Contributor Contributor

Study some of the classic narrative poems, then write a science fiction version with similar drama.

5. barcelonic

barcelonic Member

Again fiction's not my strong suit. Although I recently read Poe's 'The Raven' and fell in love with it. Haven't quite been able to get it out of my head since :)