1. Saxonvoter

Saxonvoter New Member

Fantasy or sci-fi route?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Saxonvoter, Mar 27, 2016.

First of all, I hope this is in the right sub-forum.

This is a very rough draft of the story idea I've been working on for a few years. I haven't actually written any of the story down yet properly, so large parts of the details are undecided. Apologies if it's too long to read, it's rather complicated. Basically, I'd like to know your opinions on the genre. I've been trying to decide between fantasy and scifi elements. Feel free to give any feedback that comes to your mind!

At the time when the story begins, humans have been living on an alternate version of Earth, let's call it Earth Two for now, for a few hundred years. The original, Earth One, was destroyed by causes such as pollution and overpopulation etc, and a group of different nations collaborated together to create a way for some of the humans to travel to an alternate Earth to save humanity. Earth Two is fairly similar to Earth One, except for some minor geological differences and new kinds of flora and fauna. Oh, and of course, a new race that inhabits Earth Two instead of humans.

This is where I need to decide whether to go with the more fantasy-route or the more scifi route. The race could either be something like the Neanderthals, with only slight differences to modern humans in terms of abilities, behaviour and looks, or something entirely different, such as a humanoid race that has (for example) plant-like qualities, abilities, or even magic. Either way, the race outnumbers the new humans in the start, and humans have to work together with the natives to learn to live on Earth Two. They receive geographical information, and info about local flora and fauna (and potentially about magic), and in return they teach advanced science to the natives.