1. Van Turner

Van Turner Member

Van's Progress Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by Van Turner, Dec 27, 2019.

The story so far. Or the prequel. Or just me explaining where I am at this point in the development of my stories and where I hope to be in the new year. Long post. Apologies.

Flight of the Starbird is a novel I began about 3 years ago. I think. And I say began. I introduced myself to this group saying I had been writing since I was about 14 years old, I think. Maybe I said 12. Not really checking my own post at the moment. I'm busy.

Boring history part:
    Over the course of about 5 years (1983 - 1987), I wrote 5 either really long short stories or fairly short novellas. They were a series called The Challengers and were inspired largely by 3 things: Doctor Who, a toy spaceship called Star Bird, made by Milton Bradley, and large coin depicting an image of Aquarius, made by the Bradford Exchange. These stories were written on wide ruled notebook paper in pencil and lovingly, if very poorly, illustrated by me. Still can't really draw. I'm going through the process of typing these old stories. Yes, I still have them. Reading them both is and isn't as painful as I thought it might be.