1. Jihn Xenil

Jihn Xenil New Member

I have trouble as a new writer, can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jihn Xenil, Feb 20, 2012.

Hi, I'll start out by giving you a little bit of background about myself

I'm 17 and have wrote for a little more than a year, and I'm self taught. I learned about writing by practicing, experimenting with different techniques, and pushing myself in different areas...

Well, 3 areas I have trouble in are Word Count, and Plot Development, and Commitment / Rushing.

I write only fanfiction on Fanfiction.net for right now to practice and because publishing is easy as a few clicks...

Now then, to talk about my problems

~~~Plot Development~~~

I like to talk in metaphor, so I'll explain my problem straight forward, then for a weird example, I'll explain using metaphor as well.

Well, I can get a general idea for a book... I probably think of over 1,000 book ideas a day, but I can never write them because I get scared of "What if I don't know what to do with it and where to go with it?

Ie: A story about a boy being kidnapped, then found and returned to his mother.

But the plot, I lack, and it ends up affecting both my quality and word count.
    Ie: What happens to the little boy? Why is he so important? What do the criminals want? What else can happen to add more to the story (That's where I really lack)

Metaphor style... Lets use toast as an example... The toast is your base (Or general idea of the story, IE: Example 1 above) But you have to put butter and jelly on the toast (Example 2)... My problem is that I can't seem to put enough butter or jelly so it ends up as a simple piece of toast...

My current plot development technique is that I graph out what happens in every chapter before I start writing and set a word count goal for each of those chapters.
    ~~~Word Count~~~