1. Wushi Legend

Wushi Legend New Member

Weak/Non-believable Character's Motivation

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Wushi Legend, Feb 24, 2021.

Hi. I'm a novice writer who has a story that I want to tell to the world. Right now I'm stuck at writing the prologue of that story... My main character's goal and motivation are weak and non-believable.
    What can I do to make them more strong and believable? Are there any tips for that?
    Thanks in advanced for help!

2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

Nobody can answer this without some more detail. Well, actually, we can. The answer is "Make the goal and motivation stronger and more believable." But I suspect you're looking for something a little more specific?

3. cosmic lights

cosmic lights Contributor Contributor

What are you characters goals and motivations?

Xoic likes this.
  4. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

finish writing the story... you may discover their goal and motivation are not what you originally intended as you develop both story and plot, or you may discover that they are and that you deepen their believability.

Personally i don't put too much stock in these plotting systems that say "you must define the characters goal and motivation"... in reality people act on weak motives all the time, and investing too much time in the "I must know everything about my character" thing can easily become an excuse for procrastination and not getting your ass in the chair and fingers on a keyboard

5. Xoic