1. Joran Selemis

Joran Selemis Member

The most important part of a genre

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Joran Selemis, Sep 16, 2009.

OK, so there's basic things in a genre like story idioms, language used, explanations of magic or inventions or whatever that differ from any other genre. But what I want to know is what you personally feel to be the most important part of your chosen genre; that is, when you're writing what is the thing apart from characterisation, plot structure etc that you focus on most. The unnecessary element that you include.

Personally, as a science fiction writer, I feel colloquialisms/slang are the most important part of a sci fi story. It's in the future, and even in present times things aren't called what they are. There's slang for them, and it's this slang which really brings the world of the story alive for the reader. Story-writing in general requires empathy from the reader for the characters' different worlds that they live in, and creating unique slang is an easy way of doing this.

What are your thoughts?

2. arron89

arron89 Banned

As an (I guess aspiring) writer of literary fiction, the most important aspect of the genre is in its title: literary-ness. Its all about style, style, style. Formal and aesthetic concerns dominate my writing to the point that sometimes the basics get obfuscated...its something I'm working on, and something I admire successful writers for. In my view, if you can have a random passage by a writer and identify their style from it immediately, they're successful (and, I'm sorry to say, I really don't see that in much of the fantasy and sci-fi I've read. With a few notable exceptions, its all very samey).

3. CDRW

CDRW Contributor Contributor

For sci-fi and fantasy, a sense of wonder.

4. Etan Isar

Etan Isar Contributor Contributor