1. Lennon

Lennon New Member

Hello and some advice on self publishing

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by Lennon, Feb 1, 2011.

Hi

I'm new to he community so Hi to everyone and good luck with your writing.

I was wondering if anyone has experience of self publishing and can offer some advice, in particular the companies of Lulu and Author House.

2. Terry D

Terry D Active Member

I recently self published my first book through Amazon.com's self publishing arm, CreateSpace. It was inexpensive, very author controlled, and the product has been very good. My avatar is the cover of the book.

3. Lennon

Lennon New Member

Thanks for the reply. May i just ask how difficult it has now been to market your book and to raise the profile. is it selling ok? Great cover btw

4. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I just have to ask: is there any reason you don't want to publish through traditional means?

5. Argle

Argle New Member

Depending on the audience, traditional publishing is quickly becoming more difficult (dealing with rejection/delays/etc) than self-publishing and traditional provides less money for equal sales since the houses take so much of it away. The big draw to traditional publishing is obviously advertising (which could get you more money because of more sales) and a name, though. There are pros and cons both ways.

Also, I have no experience at all with publishing other than knowing someone who works for a big Christian house (but not in the publishing department). My info comes from reading various blogs and articles and keeping up decently well with the industry since I hope to self-publish eventually.

One more note: I'm accustomed to calling publishers 'houses' since that's a common term for them. Sorry if that's confusing.

6. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

no prob, since that and 'press' are common terms for publishing companies...