1. Spiderman

Spiderman Member

What are cyberpunk and steampunk, as genres?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Spiderman, Oct 29, 2012.

I hear a lot about steampunk, and also, cyberpunk, but what are they? I looked them up on wikipedia and the definitions for those genres felt very vague and hard to understand. What are they? What defines them? They sound cool and all, but I can't exactly tell what a steampunk story of a cyberpunk story is.

2. JQJohnson

JQJohnson New Member

Basic explanation, and I am by no means an expert:
    Cyberpunk tends to be futuristic and blends organic and robotic, think cyborg.
    Steampunk is the era of the steam engine, 19th century, though it often has anachronistic elements and sometimes blends genres to include things like vampires.
    Both are considered Science Fiction.
    Both have limited markets.
    My sister has written a quite good example of Steampunk, The Bearkeeper.
    And if you want a good laugh, the last season of "The Guild" had a hysterical example of Steampunk.

3. Spiderman

Spiderman Member

What do you mean by blending organic and robotic? Isn't a lot of sci fi futuristic and has cyborgs? I'm still confused on the genre meaning. What are some popular cyberpunk games/movies/books?

Is steampunk a specific setting/world? How many steampunk elements does a story need to be steampunk? Is it the technology that makes it steampunk?

4. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

Cyberpunk tends to be dystopian and involve hackers, computers and their interactions with corporations also. The movie "Johnny Mnemonic" came from a William Gibson novels. I'd suggest looking him up to see the history of cyberpunk.

The Ghost in the Shell manga/anime has large elements of cyberpunk in it. "High tech and low life" is a phrase used to describe it at times.