1. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

What are you fed up with in paranormal/ghosty type stuff ...?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by cutecat22, Jul 3, 2017.

for me it has to be, "it was built on an old Indian burial ground you know ..."

2. ame_trine

ame_trine Member

Creepy little girls and the trope of innocence turned into terror have lost their edge. Perhaps it's just me.

AustinFrom1995, Crybaby and cutecat22 like this.
  3. JPClyde

JPClyde Senior Member

People driven mad by the haunting. Ghost paranormal stuff in general unless its done in a unique fashion.

I am a horror genre writer, horror, fantasy, crime, science fiction. I fall under the branch of speculative fiction though, but the point remains. I read a lot of horror, a lot of horror genres. I am so sick and tired of ghost paranormal stuff unless it can be done right or in an interesting way.

I once wrote a short story about a ghost who haunted a house for years and felt the living was haunting him.

PsychicWitness and cutecat22 like this.
  4. newjerseyrunner

newjerseyrunner Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2022

In movies, I'm tired of anything that has to be dark in order to be scary. If your story isn't scary when brightly lit, then it's not a good horror story.

In writing in general, I'm tired of psychics. There is always some psychic that knows exactly what to do to remove the spirit. Bullshit. Psychics are frauds, everyone knows that. John Edwards is a extortionist being fed information through an earpiece or saying things that are intentionally vague and generic and everyone like him does the exact same thing. Adding someone like that to the story is just plain lazy and immediately removes any concept of realism.