1. R M

R M Member

what do readers expect out of a mystery/ psychological thriller?

Discussion in 'Crime, Thriller & Action' started by R M, May 28, 2020.

hey guys I'm new to writing mysteries and psychological thrillers and want to know what would readers expect out of a mystery or psychological thriller? If anyone could answer this I'd greatly appreciate it thanks and have a great day!

2. TheOtherPromise

TheOtherPromise Senior Member

Can you answer the question? When you read a mystery/thriller, what do you want to happen during the story? What about mystery/thrillers draws you to them such that you want to write such a story?

I don't read thrillers, and when it comes to mystery, I don't read much but the ones I do enjoy are closed-room mysteries. I like that they are like puzzles, you have all the tools you need to solve it sprinkled around, and it's up to you to piece together what is happening. Then when the reveal comes you can see how close you were to getting it correct. They are great because they tend to have a small, well developed cast of characters and a strong setting (Both being things I value in a story).

P.S. After a quick search to make sure I was using the correct term, I couldn't find any term that describes what I meant. Which is a subgenre of whodunits that take place in an isolated/secure setting such that only those characters that are introduced early on as being trapped in the setting could possibly be the criminal.

Larro, jannert and Xoic like this.
  3. LazyBear

LazyBear Banned

My personal preferences: (might not be your target audience)
    * A hook to show that things will happen in the story. Then just avoid U-turns regarding target audience once you hooked the right readers with a free sample chapter.