1. melita0

melita0 New Member

What do you think of romantic novels?

Discussion in 'Romance' started by melita0, Aug 4, 2019.

Hello! I am Melina from Argentina and this is my first time here.
    I would much appreciate if you could tell me your opinions on romantic novels. I get bombarded with ideas that writing love stories is just for girls to read...that it s a more shallow and light kind of reading and not as deep as other styles or types of stories.
    What do you think?

Thanks! X

v_k and jannert like this.
  2. Necronox

Necronox Contributor Contributor

Are you asking the personal opinion of romantic novels? If so, I detest then and find them utterly boring. But there are plenty of people who do like them.

Or are you asking what makes a good /bad romantic novel, then I don't know since that is not my thing.

3. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

On a simply personal level I, like @Necronox above me, have absolutely no interest in them whatsoever. In fact - and I appreciate how utterly snobbish this will sound - I deeply mourn each and every tree that's sacrificed for their sake.

Oddly, however, I watched The Bridges of Madison County a couple of weeks ago and it's one of the best films I've ever seen, so I'm not that adverse to a little sop now and again.

Moon, melita0 and Necronox like this.
  4. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I'm not sure if you mean novels about relationships (like Bridges of Madison County) or something that would be classified a genre Romance.

I think if you are talking about novels that contain a love story ...in which the central relationship may not end well, or the end is never predictible ...that's a different kind of thing from genre Romance.