Tags:
  1. R M

R M Member

What does cater to your readers mean?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by R M, May 27, 2020.

Hey guys just one quick question here. See, I'm new at writing mysteries and this one website I found about the rules of writing mysteries is to "cater to your readers". What does this mean? If anyone could answer this for me I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks and have a great day!

2. Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith Banned Contributor

It means that you should write your book in such a way such that your intended reader would like it more.

3. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

I think it means don't indulge yourself as you write but try to entertain the readers. Not just entertain but give them what they want, which is powerful engaging story. It's a shift in focus that can make a huge difference.

4. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Mysteries—like Romances and other specific genres—have 'requirements' an author must meet to fulfill the expectations of the readers of those genres. Things like 'happy endings' for Romances, or 'mystery solved' for Mysteries. Stuff like that. So if you're writing in a specific genre, you need to cater to the expectations of those readers. Don't try to give your Romance a sad ending, or leave an open-ended conclusion to your Mystery, etc.

These kinds of deviations may make for a better overall story, but the readers of most genres would be very disappointed if their expectations aren't fulfilled. And they do have expectations. Like people who watch Road Runner cartoons. If you finished with the Road Runner getting caught and eaten, or with Wile E Coyote deciding he doesn't care about the Road Runner any more, and instead gets caught up in a plot where he's infatuated with a lady coyote, your audience will not be pleased.

Genre writers read to find out how the story problem will get solved. They don't want to wonder whether the problem will get solved or not.