1. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

How to get a foot in the door as a columnist

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by agentkirb, Dec 29, 2011.

So to give you a little background. I'm a recent graduate with a Computer Science degree, and I already have a job and all that. I have no formal education in writing or journalism, but I do consider writing to be a major hobby of mine. It started with spending a lot of time on forums like these and that led to me writing a lot of technical "articles" (sometimes they were just long posts of article length). All of it was completely free but I actually got contacted a few years ago about potentially writing articles for a website. The opportunity didn't lead to anything that paid money, but that moment was what got me to thinking of taking up writing as a primary hobby. It's what led me to this site two years ago, I wrote a few short/medium length fiction stories and posted them on free websites and got a few positive comments from people.

But I'm realizing fast that I'm probably not going to get any of the fiction stories that I'll write in the future published any time soon, and I'm fine with that. Like I said, I have a job to support myself with and writing is only really a hobby for me. However, I realize that there are tons of websites out there on various topics (sports, games, entertainment, whatever) and there are probably a lot of opportunities for someone to get paid as a contributor for a website on a part time basis. I'm not necessarily in this for the money, but I think it would be kind of cool to use my talents to write for a website and have people respect you (or think you are a joke depending on how good you are). The problem is that... because I don't have any credentials, I can't think of how to get a foot in the door.