Tags:
  1. Zach Dames

Zach Dames New Member

What is my poetry style?

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Zach Dames, Oct 17, 2017.

Hello!

New around here, my name is Zach and I'm a twenty year old artist and photographer. Anyways, I will cut to the chase.

I am working on a large progect, a small poetic graphic novel/short story? Not sure what to even call it. Basically, the left page will be a verse and the right page will be an illustration. I'm curious as to what my poetic style is. I will post a verse from my story below:

"At first, the little ghost brought only pieces of shadow and sorrow. Nothing unbearable, just leaving the man hoping for a brighter tomorrow.

After a while the ghost would leave, but only for a season; for the ghost would always return, mostly without even a reason".

What is the rhyme style and rhythm? I would really like to study up on and start refining what I have so for.

Thanks in advance,
    Zach

Youssef Salameh likes this.
  2. OJB

OJB A Mean Old Man Contributor

I am doing the same thing.

I suggest you look up William Blake as he did this as well (he'd paint pictures to go along with his poems.)

It seems like you are aiming for Iambic Octameter. This is a hard line to write in as the longer the line, the harder it is to keep the Rhythm going, but in any case, I'd suggest you look at a few of Blake's poems.

-

https://www.writingforums.org/entry/a-study-of-metrical-writing-part-1-introduction.63871/

Here is my blog series on Metrical Writing, but it is aimed toward Iambic Pentameter, and Blank Verse (non-rhyming verse.)

If you want your verse to have more 'sound' to it, this is where Edgar Allen Poe triumphs, and would be worth reading.

-

I am sure I could suggest more, but it's hard to tell what your end goals are in terms of writing.

I wish you the best of luck.

-OJB

Zach Dames likes this.
  3. Zach Dames

Zach Dames New Member

T

Thank you! I appreciate the feedback.